Volkswagen Products Secure Awards At BICSA Honours

Volkswagen Touareg

Volkswagen Touareg

Volkswagen products have claimed a host of trophies at this year's British Insurance Car Security Awards which are presented today (30 June) at the Motor Industry Repair Research Centre in Thatcham, Berkshire.

The Touareg was overall winner of the 4x4 category; while the Caravelle SE came second in the Large MPV class; the Phaeton 3.2-litre V6 and 6.0-litre W12 were second in the Luxury/Executive segment; the Golf GT and SE came second in the Small Family category; and the Touran was third in the Compact MPV class. Volkswagen came third overall in the Manufacturer league.

Vehicles were rated according to the New Vehicle Security Rating (NVSR) criteria. Those that had a maximum five stars for 'theft of' and four stars for 'theft from', had double locking and an 'E' insurance suffix (indicating they had a feature that exceeds the required standard) were shortlisted for final evaluation and ranking.

The awards will be presented at a high-profile ceremony in Thatcham attended by representatives from the Home Office, the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO), insurers, and leading figures from the motor industry. Home Office Minister, Hazel Blears MP, is a special guest who will be presenting the awards.

Peter Roberts, Thatcham Chief Executive, said: ‘These awards will help focus attention on the continuing problems presented by car crime in this country.

‘The expertise assembled to make these awards possible shows a real and concerted commitment, spanning the insurance industry, government and the motor industry.’

Published 30 June 2004 Melanie Carter

The information contained this Volkswagen Touareg news article may have changed since publication on the 30 June 2004. Our car specifications, reviews, and prices may only apply to the UK market. You may wish to check with the manufacturer or your local Volkswagen dealer, before making a purchasing decision. E.&.O.E. You may NOT reproduce our car news in full or part, in any format without our written permission. © 2018