Toyota and the London Congestion Charge

Toyota Prius Plug-in ( Remains Exempt )(2013)

Toyota Prius Plug-in ( Remains Exempt )(2013)

This article may be out of date and is for reference only

The new London Congestion Charge exemption rules will be introduced on the 1st July 2013 which means that only vehicles with emissions under 75 g/km will be exempt, rather than the more generous 100 g/km.

Although you still have until the 28th June 2013 to register a new or existing vehicle that qualifies under the previous 100g/km limit, which will continue to be exempt for a three-year transition period which ends on 24th June 2016.

According to Toyota they have 24 models in their current line-up that would match that criterion which range from ultra-compact city cars, the CT200h full hybrid and the seven-seat Prius+ MPV.

These are the current Toyota and Lexus vehicles that qualify for congestion charge exemption under the current criteria: (but hurry!)
  • Toyota Aygo: Aygo, Aygo +, Aygo Fire and Aygo Ice
  • Toyota iQ: iQ, iQ2, iQ3 models with 1.0-litre VVT-I petrol engine
  • Toyota Yaris: Yaris Hybrid T4 and T Spirit
  • Toyota Auris: Auris Hybrid Icon and Excel; Auris Active 1.4-litre D-4D manual
  • Toyota Prius: Prius T3, T4 and T Spirit
  • Toyota Prius + : Prius+ T4 and T Spirit
  • Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid
  • Lexus CT 200h: CT 200hS, SE, Luxury, Advance, F Sport and Premier

The Toyota Prius Plug-in which is powered a hybrid system combining a  petrol engine and rechargeable lithium-ion battery will still be charge-exempt thanks to its 49g/km CO2 rating.

Published 26 April 2013 Staff

The information contained this Toyota Prius news article may have changed since publication on the 26 April 2013. Our car specifications, reviews, and prices may only apply to the UK market. You may wish to check with the manufacturer or your local Toyota dealer, before making a purchasing decision. E.&.O.E. You may NOT reproduce our car news in full or part, in any format without our written permission. © 2019