Skoda Motorsport Completes 2002 WRC Season And Looks Ahead To 2003 | Part Two

With 1994 World Rally Champion Didier Auriol and Toni Gardemeister confirmed as permanent drivers for next year, Škoda Motorsport is looking ahead with confidence. The team aims for an improvement upon its current fifth ranking in the World Rally Championship.

Petr Kohoutek said: "We all know it is not going to be easy, but with our participation in the World Rally Championship confirmed by our management and the experience gained by the Škoda Motorsport World Rally Team so far, we look ahead into the future with confidence. The co-operation with the Technical Development Department of Škoda Auto will help the team, but will also have a positive influence on our product range. The heritage of the brand and the sporting and engineering potential of the team, now enhanced with the expertise of a world championship team, is something Škoda Motorsport can build on."

2002 Final World Rally Championship Standings
1. Marcus GRÖNHOLM (FIN) Peugeot 77 pts
2. Petter SOLBERG (N) Subaru 37 pts
3. Carlos SAINZ (E) Ford 36 pts
4. Colin MCRAE (GB) Ford 35 pts
5. Richard BURNS (GB) Peugeot 34 pts
6. Gilles Panizzi Peugeot 31 pts
7. Harri ROVANPERÄ (FIN) Peugeot 30 pts
8. Tommi MÄKINEN (FIN) Subaru 22 pts
9. Markko MÄRTIN (EE) Ford 20 pts
10. Sebastien LOEB (F) Citroen 18 pts
13. Toni GARDEMEISTER (FIN) Škoda 3 pts
17. Kenneth ERIKSSON (S) Škoda 1 pt
Manufacturers: *  
1. Peugeot 165 pts
2. Ford 104 pts
3. Subaru 67 pts
4. Hyundai 10 pts
5. Škoda 9 pts
6. Mitsubishi 9 pts
Published 17 December 2002 Melanie Carter

The information contained this Skoda news article may have changed since publication on the 17 December 2002. Our car specifications, reviews, and prices may only apply to the UK market. You may wish to check with the manufacturer or your local Skoda dealer, before making a purchasing decision. E.&.O.E. You may NOT reproduce our car news in full or part, in any format without our written permission. © 2018