Results From the Professional MotorSport World Annual Awards

The outstanding motorsport teams, technologies, personalities and facilities of 2008 have been acknowledged and rewarded in the Professional MotorSport World annual awards.

Amongst the category winners are the new Singapore Circuit, host to the sport’s first ever night race; giant-killing sports and racing car manufacturer, KTM; Bruno Famin, design engineer for Peugeot Sport and Franz Tost, team principal of Formula One’s rising star, Scuderia Toro Rosso.

Presented at Professional MotorSport World Expo, taking place in Cologne on the 11th, 12th and 13th November 2009, the awards are the highlight of a Gala dinner that hosts many of the sport’s most influential figures.

Graham Heeps, editor of Professional MotorSport World magazine and chairman of the judging panel, says: “We are proud that these awards acknowledge high-profile success, but that they also reward some of the less visible, but equally worthy achievements within the sport.”

On winning his award for ‘Team Principal of the Year’ , Franz Tost of Scuderio Torro Rosso, said: “Although I don’t feel that I personally deserve any special recognition, I am happy to receive this prestigious award on behalf of everyone who works for Scuderia Toro Rosso, as an encouragement to do even better in the future.”

Alan Wilson, who collected an award in 2006 on behalf of Miller Motorsports Park, which he designed, returned to the event this year to present the award for the ‘Motorsport Facility of the Year’ to Nick Syn, of Singapore Circuit, who made the long journey specially to collect it.

Additionally, the awards honoured the FIA Institute which won ‘Safety Innovation of the Year’ for its WRC safety programme; Windshear won ‘Testing Technology of the Year’ for its new 180mph rolling-road wind tunnel and Heat2power won ‘Powertrain Innovation of the Year’ for its waste heat regeneration technology.

Safety Innovation of the Year Winner: WRC safety program – FIA Institute

Testing Technology of the Year Winner: Windshear

Powertrain Innovation of the Year Winner: Waste heat regeneration – Heat2power

Vehicle Development of the Year Winner: X-Bow Race – KTM

Motorsport Facility of the Year Winner: Singapore Circuit

Design Engineer of the Year Winner: Bruno Famin, Peugeot Sport

Team Principal of the Year Winner: Franz Tost, Scuderia Toro Rosso

13 November 2008 Staff

The information contained this motoring news article may have changed since publication. Product specifications, reviews and editorial may only apply to the UK market. You may wish to check with the manufacturer before making a purchasing decision. E.&.O.E. You may NOT reproduce our motoring news in full or part, in any format without our written permission. © 2018