The 2011 Goodwood Festival of Speed Highlights

Jaguar E-Type Sculpture

Jaguar E-Type Sculpture

The 2011 Goodwood Festival and Moving Motor Show saw a record 181,000 visitors pass through the gates and over 100 star racing drivers.

The hillclimb event saw Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg, Nigel Mansell, John Surtees and Sir Stirling Moss, who made his first public appearance behind the wheel since announcing his retirement from competitive motor racing.

A large number of jaguars took to the Hill, as Goodwood celebrated 60 years since the Coventry marque's first victory at Le Mans. Jaguar also celebrated the Jaguar E-type's 50th anniversary with a 28 metre high sculpture of the sports car.

On sunday, was the Top Ten timed shoot-out finale against the clock, with Andrew Willis in the Matra MS670B achieving a time of 53.18 seconds, beaten just minutes later by Andrew Smith with a time of 50.03 seconds in his Toyota Celica, which was then beaten by Dan Collin's Lotus 88B 'twin chassis' F1 with a time of 48.52 seconds.

A tribute to the centenary of the Indy 500 race, with 42 Indianapolis cars in attendance, with 33 of them lining up outside Goodwood House and taking on the Hill, driven by a number of Indy driver celebrities and accompanied by pageantry including a marching band and the traditional Indy song 'Back Home Again in Indiana". Guitarist Jeff Kollman played the American national anthem on the roof of Goodwood House. Also playing at the event were Queen guitarist Brian May and singer Kerry Ellis with their Anthems band.

David Cottingham's 1951 Touring Ferrari 430 America was awarded with overall honours in the Cartier 'Style et Luxe' concours d'elegance. William Ainscough claimed the Boat-Tail Beauties category with his 1931 Bentley 4.5-Litre Supercharged Roadster, Kees Smit's 1937 Tatra T87 was presented with the Extreme Lines prize for 'Pre-War Streamlined Specials'. The People Power class went to the 1961 Renault 3 from the factory's collection, with the Comeback Kids gong being awarded to Maarten de Buijn's 1999 Spyker Silvestris V8 prototype.

A record number of supercar debuts were hosted at the 2011 Goodwood festival of Speed, including the Ferrari FF, Lamborghini Aventador and the Jaguar XKR-S

6 July 2011 Staff

The information contained this motoring news article may have changed since publication. Product specifications, reviews and editorial may only apply to the UK market. You may wish to check with the manufacturer before making a purchasing decision. E.&.O.E. You may NOT reproduce our motoring news in full or part, in any format without our written permission. © 2018